Tree v’s Bicycle 

Standard

I was out cycling the other day when I got distracted by a rogue wasp.

I’m my attempts to swat the pest away, I failed to notice the tree right in front of me.

Before I could take any evasive action I hit the tree head on.

The collision was fierce enough to knock every leaf from every branch on the tree.

As I picked myself up off the floor I noticed a sign…..the sign read….

‘Here stands the Gofer Tree, the gofer tree only produces leaves once a generation and this is the last known Gofer tree left in the world’

I couldn’t believe my bad luck, I was in shock I didn’t know what to do! So I picked up my bike and just ran….

For the rest of that day and all through the night I worried, what had I done!

So the following day I returned to the tree, head lowered and covered with a hoodie so not to be seen.

But as I approached I couldn’t believe my eyes, the tree, the Gofer tree that only produces leaves one in a generation, the one I ploughed in to…..was one again in full bloom.

It was such a relief….
© C Webber 2017

One thought on “Tree v’s Bicycle 

Leave a Reply

